Running Wild
Comments 5

Lulworth Cove

Isn’t it funny how living near a place often means you never visit it?

You can go pretty much any time you like, but somehow you never quite get there.

The last time I visited Lulworth Cove was back in June 2007. I remember it was cold and grey and rainy, and I was being a stroppy teenager… probably not the best combination for appreciating the natural beauty surrounding you!

This time around the sun was shining and I was on my very best behaviour.

View over Lulworth Cove, Dorset, England.

We had a picnic, a quick walk part way up the path to Durdle Door (well, quickish… it’s a very steep path!), and then we strolled down to the cove to laze about in the September sunshine.

Looking out across Lulworth Cove, Dorset, England. Boats in Lulworth Cove on a sunny September day.

Resting tired feet in the sea at Lulworth Cove, Dorset, England.

Resting tired feet in the lovely cool water.

Lulworth Cove, Dorset, England. Jurassic coast.

We went to the far side of the cove, where there’s an outcrop of rocks – ideal for clambering across in search of rock pools and shells, and perfect for perching on to watch the boats and kayaks, and happy dogs paddling in the water.

Rocks at Lulworth Cove, Dorset, England.

It was also the perfect spot to appreciate how very lucky I am to live where I live.

There really is no place like home.

5 Comments

  1. poppytump says

    Dorset ! Another county I love . Lulworth Cove is so beautiful . Yes … quite a hike up to Durdle Door Pippin Lol

    • It was definitely a good workout for the legs! We thought it was best to go back for lunch and spent the rest of the afternoon lazing about on the cove. Oh well… it’s a great excuse to go back again soon!

  2. Great Blog!!! I know what you mean, you love were you are at! I feel the same here in Santa Fe, living up in the mountains! I’m blessed!!!

Leave a comment