Miscellaneous, Running Wild, Vintage
Comments 2

Faded Summer

Summer has been and gone. It was busy and calm, vibrant and lazy, sunny and rainy. Little adventures were had, treasures hunted, stitches stitched. I will miss it, but I’m excited for autumn. Crisp air. Crunchy leaves. Cozy cups of hot chocolate.

This morning, which was cool and chilly and misty, I found a bundle of lovely old photographs at a car boot sale. They made me think of all the photos my mum patiently took and carefully stored when me and my brothers and sister were little. So when I got home, out came the boxes and albums, and with them lots of memories. I made my face sore from laughing and smiling.

There are photos of all five of us children, the five of us plus mum or dad (whoever wasn’t holding the camera), my older brothers on boyish adventures, my twin brother and me looking mischievous, me and my little sister all dressed up in fetching costumes – not to mention all of the ones with the wider family and friends.

In amongst them all, there was one that reminded me of the photographs that had started me looking in the first place. Besides the plastic toys strewn across the grass and the flip flops on my feet, it looks decidedly vintage.

OldPhotoOfJoI’m in my favourite dress. I don’t know if I’ve ever loved a dress since then as much as I loved that dress. Strawberry print and strawberry buttons – what could possibly be better? And a ruffled white hat keeps my fair, freckled skin from burning. I don’t remember the hat, but it nicely finishes the look.

Summers fade. The summer in the photograph faded quite a while ago. But in each summer, and each season, there are memories and stories that don’t. They take a place in your heart.

I hope you have a happy, healthy, and memory-filled autumn…

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

