Pippin Run Wild, Refashioning, Vintage
Comments 8

Mended

At the market on Saturday, I came across a raggedy cloth doll sitting sadly in a box on the ground. It looked like it had seen better days, but also like it could live to see a few more. So, despite being a little worried about the possibility it might be cursed (it did have a bit of a deranged look about it, with it’s wobbly arms and legs, and it’s floppy head), it came home with me and out came the unpicker.Raggedy vintage cloth doll, before being mended. Vintage harlequin doll, jester doll, circus performer doll, acrobat doll. I found all sorts of things inside – sawdust, rags, bits of knitting, yarn, crumpled up paper, and plastic bags. I’m not surprised it didn’t look too well! Vintage cloth doll piece, during mending.The fabric pieces were washed and ironed, then stitched back together again. I refilled it with more conventional polyester stuffing this time – not a plastic bag in sight!Before and after vintage cloth doll restoration. Vintage doll. Circus performer. Acrobat. Harlequin. Jester.Mended cloth doll. Circus style, harlequin, jester, acrobat doll. Red, green, orange, blue.Strangely, I often find that mending something is more satisfying than making something from scratch. I feel happy to have added to it’s story.

So there you have it – mended.

8 Comments

  1. poppytump says

    ..my .. what a fine pair of shapely legs Raggedy Ann now has Pippin πŸ™‚
    She looks a treat !

    • They are indeed a shapely pair – I think he’s supposed to be a circus performer of some sort, so hopefully a strong pair of legs will serve him well! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Kim! πŸ™‚ He’s up on Etsy for now, and hopefully he finds a nice new home – though secretly I wouldn’t mind if he stays! πŸ˜‰

    • It just looked so raggedy and in need of help… I couldn’t leave it behind! And the story has a happy ending – it’s found a new home with my best friend’s little sister!

Leave a Reply

