Miscellaneous
Comments 6

An Old Book Made New

Inside of upcycled notebook, made from a vintage 1930s book cover. Upcycled recycled repurposed. Old book cover craft idea. Upcycled journal.

On a trip to the market a little while ago, I bought some vintage books from one of the stalls. Most were pretty worse for wear (I like worse for wear things, worse for wear translates as “long and interesting life” in my mind), and as I was leaving the stall holder handed me an even more worse for wear book. He said he would have just thrown it away at the end of the day otherwise.

I’ll be honest, over the last few months I’ve wondered if I should just throw it away (at the recycling centre, obviously). But I didn’t.

And I’m very glad I didn’t. Because now it is an old book made new.Upcycled notebook, made from a vintage 1930s book cover. Eco friendly notebook. Recycled book cover.It’s got lots of recycled paper inside, taken from old notebooks and sketchbooks and shopping bags… Inside of upcycled notebook, made with vintage 1930s book cover. Eco friendly notebook. Craft idea for old book covers.Inside of upcycled notebook, made from a vintage 1930s book cover. Upcycled recycled repurposed. Old book cover craft idea. Upcycled journal.Inside of upcycled notebook. Sketchbook. Journal. Made with recycled materials. Old book cover craft idea.… all stitched to the spine. The spine is reinforced with a scrap of vintage paisley fabric (and Mod Podge). Spine of upcycled notebook, made from a vintage book cover.Vintage book cover, upcycled into a notebook.Vintage 1930s book cover, recycled into a notebook. Upcycled journal. So, thank you Mr Stallholder.

And I hope this little book doesn’t need to be thrown away for a long time yet…

6 Comments

  1. Glenda says

    What a divine idea !
    I’ve got lots of books from my dear old dad , I love journalising and drawing so will have a go at this !
    Thanks , love yr blog !!
    Glenda

Leave a Reply

