Vintage
Comments 2

A Little Bird

Today, a friend and I went shopping in a nearby town. Mostly I came home laden with lovely vintage fabrics, but my favourite find was this beautiful bird brooch.Blue wooden bird brooch. Takahashi style. 1970's reproduction of a takahashi bird brooch. I bought it mainly because it was so lovely and so blue. But after doing a bit of research, it turns out there’s a bit more history behind it than I’d first thought there might be. Blue wooden bird brooch. Takahashi style. 1970's reproduction of a takahashi bird brooch.Blue wooden bird brooch. Takahashi style. 1970's reproduction of a takahashi bird brooch.I had never heard of a Takahashi brooch before, but now I have, and I can’t believe what I’ve been missing. If you search for “takahashi bird brooch” in google images your eyes are in for a treat! Back of a blue wooden bird brooch. Takahashi style. 1970's reproduction of a takahashi bird brooch.This one is a 1970’s reproduction (you can tell a reproduction by the fact screws were used to attached the brooch pin), but I still think it’s lovely! All in all, a good day’s shopping.

I hope you have a lovely weekend!

2 Comments

  1. poppytump says

    What a fascinating link Pippin !
    Lovely little bird find šŸ™‚
    Are you wearing it or have you pinned somewhere else to enjoy I wonder .

    • It’s an interesting story, isn’t it? At the moment I’m giving myself a few days to decide whether to keep it or sell it… I’m definitely very tempted to keep it, but I’m also aware of how large my brooch collections is! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

