Running Wild
Leave a Comment

Surrounded by Mountains…

In my last post, I promised you a trip into the Pyrenees. I hope you like it…

I love gazing out of windows, and when the world outside is covered with mountains, there is a lot of gazing to do. I come from a land of rolling hills, so a land of rolling mountains meant my eyes were very distracted, wandering off up the slopes and hopping from peak to peak.View of the Pyrenees in the evening, in the south of France.On our first day in France, we arrived at the villa in the evening. It was beginning to get dark, but the mountains were bathed in beautiful, golden sunshine – just in case they didn’t stand out enough already. It was amazing how much this view changed over the week. Whispers of mist hanging close to the slopes, scorching midday brightness on the trees, clouds spilling over the peaks, and – at one point – no mountains at all. SAM_3520 SAM_3526On the third day, we really did venture into the mountains. We visited Les Gorges de la Fou – “the narrowest gorge in the world” (which was proudly written on anything it could be written on). Hard hats on, we walked along a rickety metal walkway, water roaring beneath our feet and rock running up into the air around us. It was stunning and – at points – a little bit eerie.

Entering 'Les Gorges de la Fou'...

Entering ‘Les Gorges de la Fou’…

A little waterfall...

I have never seen so many waterfalls in my life!

Glistening coins in the water

Glistening coins in the water

There are old stories of witches, evil spirits, and bandits living in the gorge. Now, it seems to be just us tourists and our cameras. But then I suppose witches, evil spirits, and bandits are probably quite good at hiding…

Afterwards, we drove up (and up and up) into the mountains. I couldn’t help wondering what it would be like to live in one of the villages, and what it must be like to forget to get something at the supermarket all the way back down the mountain. MountainVillageViewMountainBuildingThe views were awe-inspiring. Miles and miles of tree covered slopes, topped off with miles and miles of beautiful blue sky. I really struggled to get photos that do it justice – my eyes just kept wandering away from the camera screen…SAM_3429TreePyrenes The next day, my mum and I did a little exploring on foot, following one of the just-a-little-bit-steep footpaths to the Font des Simiots. The Simiots were mythical beasts, said to steal children from the village. We didn’t see any beasts on our walk, just birds, butterflies, and a few lizards.

At the start of our walk...

At the start of our walk…

Up and up and up, slowly...

Up and up and up, slowly…

Tadah! Font des Simiots. I'll be honest, I was expecting it to be a little bigger!

Tadah! Font des Simiots. I’ll be honest, I was expecting it to be a little bigger!

Over the week, wherever we were and wherever we looked, the Pyrenees looked back at us. I will never forget being surrounded by mountains…

Leave a Reply

