Pippin Run Wild, Tutorials
Comments 2

Paper Heart Bunting

Heart bunting, made with recycled paper (old sheet music, paper bags, old flower illustrations), and lace.

Blundering around the local market on Saturday morning (why do markets have to be so morning oriented?), I came across a book of garden flower illustrations for 50p. As usual, I had no clue what I would do with it, but I was pretty sure an idea would come to mind. After staring at the pages for a while (panicking that I’d taken apart a perfectly good book), an idea surfaced. There may already be a lot of bunting in the world, but there’s probably room for just a little more.Heart bunting, made with recycled paper (old sheet music, paper bags, old flower illustrations), and lace.Old flower illustrations, botanical illustrations.*It was really easy to make, so I thought I’d write out what I did rather than a step by step. If you want to make some heart bunting of your own, just follow the basic outline.* I made a stencil, drew round it onto a few sheets of illustrations, and cut these hearts out. I used remnants from a paper shopping bag and a piece of old sheet music for the individual flags, and glued a heart to each of these. Then, I stitched round the hearts on a sewing machine. On some flags, I also stitched round the border.Individual paper heart bunting flags. Glued down, and stitched onto paper bag.Individual heart bunting flags. Glued down, and stitched to paper from a paper bag, and old sheet music.For the string, I sewed together strips of scrap lace, pinned the flags to it, and sewed along the top of each flag (convinced I would never be able to untangle the mess I was making), and finished by tying the loose ends at the back. And – tadah! – some recycled paper shopping bag bunting (which may be a bit of a long name, but it’ll do for now).Completed paper heart bunting. Recycled paper and old sheet music heart bunting. Old sheet music and recycled paper heart bunting.And it was even sunny enough to photograph it outside. How about that?

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

