Pippin Run Wild, Running Wild, Vintage
Comments 8

Sunshine and Flowers

Vintage floral fabric. Winfield of Woolworths, 1963-1983.

The sun has been shining, bird songs are being sung, and little flecks of blossom are appearing on the trees. Spring is on it’s way, and I’m very glad to see it.Snowdrops in the sunshine. Kingston Lacy, Dorset, England.I couldn’t resist taking a few photos of these beautiful snowdrops and purple crocuses, dappled in the sunshine and looking very scenic.Lots of snowdrops. Kingston Lacy, Dorset, England.Snowdrops and purple crocuses in the sunshine. Kingston Lacy estate, Dorset, EnglandThis springy theme has worked it’s way into my fabric. On Saturday, I saw this flowery duvet cover in a charity shop. I thought the design looked pretty vintage, even though it felt new. When I got home, I had great fun looking for the label inside (if I had been logical about it, I would have just turned it inside out, but I wasn’t, and ended up standing in the middle of the room with a duvet cover over my head). When I found the tiny label, it said “Winfield”, which I googled. Winfield turns out to have been an own brand of Woolworths between 1963 and 1983. From its condition, I would never have believed it was 30 (at least!).Vintage floral fabric. Winfield of Woolworths, 1963-1983. 1970s vintage fabric.Vintage floral fabric. Winfield of Woolworths, 1963-1983. 1970s vintage fabric.And now, little flowers are beginning to appear all over the place.Small flower print fabric, with vintage lace. Fabric/textile collar necklace.Small flower print fabric, with vintage lace. Fabric/textile collar necklace.Close up of vintage lace trim.I’m looking forward to the next couple of flower filled and sunny(ish) weeks.

8 Comments

  1. i have to admit, i’m jealous…although, i can walk ALMOST entirely on asphalt all the way to work now! that’s progress.

  2. What a brilliant find. Good old Woolworths. Until today spring was feeling tangible. Now everything is wreathed in icy fog 😦

    • Icy fog doesn’t sound particularly nice. It’s been raining/drizzling here since yesterday morning. On the plus side, it’s the perfect weather for hot chocolate and sewing.

    • Thank you. I could sit and look at vintage linen all day! I was surprised the cover turned out to be quite so old, as it was in such good condition, but the pattern and colours definitely fit the 60s and 70s look (at least, the look I imagine in my head from all my mum’s copies of Golden Hands).

Leave a Reply

