Running Wild
Comments 17

Wild Hearts

Little hearts to be left out in the wilderness.

I love finding things. So, to keep a bit of balance, I thought it might be nice to leave some things to be found.Little hearts to be set free into the wilderness. Heart bombs.A few days ago, I stumbled upon this post on one sheepish girl about “heart bombs”, which are little knitted and crocheted hearts left out in the open for people to find and take home. It’s such a lovely idea. Although I can knit, I can’t for the life of me crochet (my mum’s lessons – no matter how hard she or I tries – manage to go in one ear, get all muddled up in my head, and then exit through the other ear without so much as a goodbye). I thought it would be nice to hand sew some instead, whilst watching some six nations rugby with my dad (who looked baffled).Little hearts to be left out in the wilderness. Heart bombs.They’re made from pure wool from a fabric sample book, and I used sheep’s wool for the inside. I wanted to use materials that wouldn’t cause too much harm if some hearts never find a home.Oscar Wilde quote, for little wild hearts. 'Ordinary riches can be stolen, real riches cannot. In your soul are infinitely precious things that cannot be taken from you.'I attached little tags, made from old paper shopping bags, with a little message for the finder. And then I went for a walk, with a little handful in my pocket, to set some free.A little heart bomb set free. A little heart bomb set free.I hope they find good homes.

17 Comments

    • I know, right? I’m so glad I found out about it. It’s testing my sneaking abilities… trying to tie one to something without anyone noticing is hard! 🙂

    • I hope at least one makes someone happy. For my part, I’m having fun trying to tie them to things without being seen. I feel very sneaky. 🙂

        • A little, but, in a way, I like not knowing what’s going to happen to them. Also, I don’t think I’d be very good at playing the part of an uninterested bystander. I’d be too nervous!

  1. awesome idea! i love leaving notes around the house for my family and even for my friends sometimes so this os the PERFECT addition to them! thanks for sharing! xo
    sincerely, whitney

Leave a Reply

