Refashioning, Vintage
Comments 12

Little Vintage Tea Cards

Little vintage cards, from packets of Brooke Bond tea. Illustrations of tropical birds, and birds of Britain - made into gift tags.

A few days ago, I found these beautiful little tea cards in a charity shop (see Snow, Marshmallows, and Vintage Postcards), and although they were a little worn, they were too intriguing to resist. Little vintage cards, from packets of tea. Illustrated with tropical birds, and birds of Britain. Made into gift tags.When I showed my dad, he recognised them immediately. They used to come inside packets of tea in the 1950s and 60s, and lots of different series of these cards were made, in all sorts of subjects – things like: tropical birds, a history of aviation, flags and emblems of the world, etc. They’re collectible, but only in good condition.Little vintage cards, from packets of Brooke Bond tea. Illustrations of tropical birds, and birds of Britain - made into gift tags.The majority of the cards I found were from the ‘Tropical Birds’ and ‘Birds of Britain’ series, although there was one card with a scary looking dinosaur on the front. Most of the beautiful bird illustrations were painted by Charles Tunnicliffe.Illustrated Brooke Bond tea cards. Tropical bird series. Illustrated Brooke Bond tea cards. Tropical bird series.They seemed the perfect size to reinvent as gift/price tags. To make a backing, I cut old paper bags to fit the cards, and sewed the two together round the borders (using a tough and hardy sewing machine, with a needle that needed changing anyway). Tea card, made into a gift tag.Gift tag/label made from a vintage illustrated card, originally from a packet of tea.And – tadah! – some lovely and feathery gift tags! I love this bird’s hair do…

12 Comments

  1. Lovely.

    I was given books of these tea cards by my grandmother who had collected them religiously. They are so charming and what a lovely way to use the lose ones.

    Great find.

    • Thanks! I think charming is the perfect word for them – I’d drink even more tea if they put little cards like them in the packets again!

    • Thank you! They were lovely and simple to make. I had to go through a lot of very blurry photos before I finally got some in focus!

  2. poppytump says

    I remember collecting cards from PG tips Tea back in the late 60’s 70’s … I used to be always pestering my Mum to open a new box so I could slide out the picture card which lay inside 🙂
    How lovely to re invent them in this way ! Very pretty .

  3. I’ve never heard of tea cards before, but they’re beautiful. Using them as gift tags is a great idea, I can imagine using old postcards and greeting cards in the same way.

    • Thanks. I hadn’t heard of them either until I spotted these ones in January, and now I’m noticing them all over the place! Using old postcards as gift tags is a nice idea – I might have to do some experimenting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

